Quick update – Strawberry boob, biopsy results and FU cancer!

So, business first. I went in on Monday and met with my radiation oncologist. She decided pretty quickly it would be best to wait another week. I was still unable to even put cream on the burns without significant pain so it didn’t look good for doing more damage. I’m happy to report that the past couple days I’ve finally started to improve and I think I will be fine to start back on Monday. My underarm is peeling a lot and the skin is very stretched and dry but I think it will be okay. My “breast” (or mound of saline) basically looks like a big strawberry. The radiation has burned the hair follicles and here’s a close up of the skin, beautiful right?:
strawberry_skin

Also, I just got a call a few minutes ago from the dermatologist. They got my biopsy results back and I have psoriasis. So I need to do some googling, but compared to what I’ve been through in the past year I’m not overly concerned. The nurse told me they’ll go into a lot more detail when I go in next week but it’s an autoimmune disease that is in my genetic makeup (not caused by treatment) but all of the meds and everything have kind of created a perfect environment for a big flare up. I should continue with the steroid cream (which has been working) and we will discuss more next week.

Lastly, my knee is jacked. I don’t know what the deal is because I haven’t done anything to it that I am aware of, but I can barely get up and down stairs and it’s not good. So I’m going to my GP (who is awesome) this afternoon to see what he thinks.

Oh, and it’s my birthday today. I think birthdays will be a bigger deal to me now that I’ve been through this. I’ve never really been a celebration kind of person (at least as an adult) but it seems like marking another year is pretty significant right now. A big FU to cancer. I am thankful to all my doctors for keeping me here and for all my friends and family who give me support every day. I was supposed to finish treatment tomorrow but now it looks like that will actually be June 19th. After all this, I figured two weeks isn’t really that long to wait. So far the day has pretty much been like every other day, but I will figure out something to mark the occasion. To infinity and beyond!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quick update – Strawberry boob, biopsy results and FU cancer!

  1. Jeanette says:

    Happy birthday Jenn!! June 19th is your last day of treatment and my last day at Penzeys. Hope your skin gets better soon.

  2. michelle says:

    Happy Birthday Girlfriend, you just keep going and going and going…
    hugs Michelle

  3. L Ayson says:

    SO glad they’re giving your skin and follicles a rest during this inflammation period. Hope you continue to heal quickly so you can get the show on the road and see radiation in your rearview mirror. HAPPY B i R t H d A y!! Every one is special ~ post-diagnosis, they take on a whole different level of “special.” Soak it up, bask in the greatness of you, and of life and all its craziness. 🙂

  4. Lara says:

    Happy Birthday Jenn! You’d better plan something great for the 19th!

  5. Lola says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Glad you are on the mend…that sure looked painful.

  6. jdolce27 says:

    That photo of your skin is unbelievable! I’m so happy you were able to resume treatment (that sounds weird but you know what I mean!) and you’ll have to let me know what you plan for the 19th.

  7. Judith Rolfs says:

    So sorry you have to go through this. Our son battled acute lymphoblastic leukemia successfully with the power of God and great doctors. He was 18 and now he’s 46. Twice he was given 24 hours or less to live. If you need encouragement, read my birthday gift to you – the ebook called Love Always, Mom. It’s free on amazon kindle today and tomorrow. I hope you’ll be encouraged by it.

  8. Nancy says:

    Happy Birthday!
    Get that knee looked at…mine was necrosis and we all know what happened with that. Ugh!
    XO

Leave a Reply

