Weekend update

I feel like this week wasn’t as bad as last. Now, by saying it was better than last week I don’t mean to imply that it was good. I’ve been in bed or on the couch for two days straight. It started earlier than it had in the past (I think it actually started Wednesday night instead of Thursday afternoon). The worst thing has been the constant headache. I’ve taken a lot of ibuprofen. I’ve been exhausted as usual and spent a lot of time sleeping. My throat has been scratchy but not to the extent that it is painful. I don’t have the fever-like symptoms like last week which sucked. I know that there aren’t really going to be “good” weeks, but I feel like I am still having a pattern of alternating bad weeks and better weeks. Both are getting progressively worse, but it’s something.

I got the minimum 8 mg dose of the steroid this week. I started eating like crazy a 2 or 3 weeks ago which is apparently due to the steroid. I’m hoping reducing it a little will make a difference. It is such a bizarre feeling. I am not hungry, can’t taste food very well, yet constantly want to eat. Not fun.

One of the nurses told me that the steroid is part of the reason I feel pretty good for a couple days after the chemo – it keeps me “up” and wears off in about 48 hours. I don’t know if the lower dose made me feel the symptoms earlier or if it just went that way this week.

My hair also does some really interesting things being in bed for this long. It was the same way last weekend but I didn’t take any pictures. It reminds me of Pink.

20120929-082325.jpg

My hair is also really coming out. Luckily I have a lot of hair because I pulled out what looked like a small animal on Friday but I think it still looks okay. I’m guessing it won’t be too much longer before I buzz it though. We will see. When I start getting thin patches then it’s coming off. It think that makes me look more “sick” than having a shaved head would. It really is remarkable how much of my hair I still have on my 5th week of chemo. It is totally because of the trial and unique dosing. My hair would have been gone 3 weeks ago normally.

I found out yesterday that the circus is in town this weekend and next so I am going to try and get tickets. I think the kids would love it and it would be nice to have something “normal” and “fun” to go do. I totally remember going to the circus as a kid.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend update

  1. Jessica says:

    I LOVE the Pink look!!!

  2. Michelle Buan says:

    Love the “bed head,” it does look like a Pink ‘do. Glad this week was a bit better. Have fun at the circus!!! Xo

  3. Laura Tidquist says:

    I think your hair is adorable! (of course I have short hair so I’m probably biased). Thanks for the updates – stay strong sister!

  4. Jill Breheny says:

    Love you Jenn- I’m so happy you got to go to the circus with your family : )

Leave a Reply

