Sleep, sleep and more sleep

I think I’ve finally turned the corner. Two days down this time. Last night I slept for 14 hours. I didn’t get out of bed until noon. That used to be a normal occurrence on the weekends, but it hasn’t happened since before Fletch was born so that’s more than 5 years. I forgot what it was like to sleep half the day. It’s nice. It sucks to wake up sick though. As soon as I moved my head started pounding and when I cleared the gunk out of my throat it hurt again. Welcome to the real world. I was thinking maybe I had caught a bug and was sick, but now I think it really was just the chemo. My head doesn’t feel quite right yet, but after two naps today and lots of down time I’m at least feeling more normal. This was a rough one.

Fletcher is having another sleepover at my folks house and I decided I wanted to get some air so we walked down our street with Evelyn and the dogs to wait for a train. It is a short walk and it was nice to be outside. We stayed down there about 20 minutes or so until a train came. Evelyn loves the trains. She wants to watch Thomas all the time and loves to walk down to the tracks. She still gets nervous about how loud the trains are in person, but the engineers almost always blow the horn for us when they see us waving. As soon as the train is gone she always says “more!”. It was nice to be out of the house for a little while and helped me feel good for a little while.

My hair is still coming out slowly. I’m pretty thankful for that, if I had the standard course of chemo it would have been long gone by now. As it is, I can tell it’s thinner but it’s still okay. It’s funny getting used to short hair. Eric even said he liked it a lot the other day – I don’t think I ever in my lifetime would have cut it short like this but I am getting used to it. With all the time I’ve been spending in bed this weekend it pretty much just stands straight up. Fletch thinks it’s hilarious.

I’m going to go back to bed and hope that I’ll feel better tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sleep, sleep and more sleep

  1. Matt Mauldin says:

    Hang in there Jenn- I’m thinking about you and wishing you all the best in your fight with and recovery from cancer!

Leave a Reply

