Thursdays

Thursdays have always been my favorite day of the week. I’m not really sure why. You would think Friday right? Or Saturday hanging with the family or even lazy Sundays. But for as long as I can remember it’s been Thursdays. I guess I go for the under dog. Thursdays have just been good to me. Turns out we might have to break up for a while. It’s been a good run, and we’ll probably get back together eventually. But for now, Thursdays suck. I pretty much just need to start planning to be in bed on Thursday afternoons. Because that’s when the chemo kicks in. You may remember last week when I was so exhausted I passed out at my parents house for a few hours. That was round 1.

This weekend is the Haute Tots Consignment Sale. I found the sale when Fletch was just a tiny baby – small enough to fit in the Baby Bjorn which he outgrew in a few months. The ladies who run the sale are awesome and I have gotten to know them over the years since I always consign and volunteer to help wherever I can. Another perk to putting in your time is that you get to shop the pre-sale. Luckily this year I had mom to help me out with that extra work because as you know I am kind of out of it over here. So again, much thanks to mom. As we were arriving at the pre sale, I still felt okay. I took a nap this afternoon and felt good when I woke up. I was hoping things wouldn’t kick in until later. Only having two treatments, I didn’t know how predictable my symptoms would be. Apparently they’re pretty much like clockwork. While trying to shop, I kept feeling like I was having hot flashes and had to sit down. Mom was a great help, brought things to me to look at and carried everything. I was just trying to keep going because normal me could spend days over there looking through things and talking to all the people I only see at the sales and just generally enjoying myself. But not tonight. As time went on I felt worse and worse. Exhaustion, nausea, and a complete spacey feeling like I was drugged. I was having a hard time following thoughts. Not good. I had to lean on mom and hold her hand to walk to the car when we left. I love that sale, and I love the people there. I felt pretty good going in, but like I said. Apparently Thursdays are going to be a bitch. I came home and rested and am just pretty much staying in the recliner. Hopefully tomorrow will be better. The nausea is okay now at least and I think I’m forming rational thoughts (I guess we’ll see when I come back to read this later).

It hit me so much harder this week. I knew things were going to get worse each week, I guess I just didn’t expect it to be so much worse so fast. Hopefully tomorrow will be okay. Mom is going to come over and we’ll just see how it goes.

My appetite is still completely MIA. I did eat last night (awesome mexican spaghetti and garlic bread – thank you!). I ate an english muffin this morning and tried to eat lunch but didn’t get too far on my plate. I ate some toast when I got home from the sale. I really am just forcing myself to eat at this point though – I sit here and think about what would taste good to me trying to get myself hungry and it’s just not there. I have pie in my kitchen at this moment and it hasn’t been eaten in days. Pie. Pretty much my favorite thing ever. And nothing.

My hair was better after a shower and just messing it up. I do like the way it feels being short, the style is growing on me a bit. Like a fungus. It will fall out soon enough so I don’t think it really matters anyway. I’m trying to enjoy doing something different. I’m going back to bed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursdays

  1. bigusfickes says:

    Thursdays used to be our new Fridays when I was travelling. Now it’s just TGIF-Eve

  2. Jill Breheny says:

    I can still “see you” at that Haute Tots sale when Evelyn was tiny and in the car seat. Your arms were overflowing with ruffly dresses for her. I think you literally had 20 dresses in your arms and I love that memory, as you were so joyful to buying dresses for your little girl. I’m happy you still made it to the sale, but bummed you were feeling so horrible. The quilt that your mom and her friends made is gorgeous. Healing thoughts and prayers coming your way, friend!

Leave a Reply

